Employing authorities

At 31 March 2022, there were 171 employing authorities contributing to the Scheme.  These employing authorities were composed of 11 councils, 1 Education Authority, 1 library authority, 48 associated bodies, 89 schools, 9 further and higher education colleges and universities and 12 employers with restricted membership (closed to new members).  A full list of these organisations can be found on our contributing employers section.


Membership of the Scheme increased during the 2021/22 year to 149,739 members.  At 31 March 2022, the Scheme consisted of 73,960 contributing members, 41,557 pensioners and 30,902 deferred members, plus 2,269 unclaimed refunds and 1,051 pensions pending.

Useful links